Vet Comparsions - Am I Paying Too Much?

Thelms

First of all hello this is my first time here. Second - I've always owned pure bred west highland terriers. Ever since I was a young kid we had westies as my parents had a family friend who bred/showed westies for a hobby. My last 2 westies lived until they were 17 and 19 years old. Now that I've moved out, my girlfriend and I wanted to get a dog of our own. So we went to my family friend and told them we wanted one and about a year later one was available :). That was back in 2009.

Now I told my parents how much vet has cost so far my mum thinks it's expensive and that I should change vets because I am paying too much. But I am unsure I've never really been the one to deal. When we first got our westie de-sexed. I called around and the prices I was given was $150-170 for the spay (not-including any optional items)

My vet gave me the option of a pre-anaesthetic blood screening, and to my surprise IV fluids and the RIMADYL injection/chews were also optional, even the Elizabethan collar was optional. So in the end it cost this much. My girlfriend was worried about sending our dog straight into an operation for the first time without ever having had a blood test, so we had one done.

Date: September 2009

1. 6230A Pre-Anaesthetic Screen - $75.76 (OPTIONAL)

2. IV Fluids - Surgical - $57.00 (OPTIONAL)

3. Elizabethan Collar - $10.60 (OPTIONAL)

4. Rimadyl Injection 20ML - $22.34 (OPTIONAL)

5. Rimadyl Chews 25MG - $19.91 (OPTIONAL)

6. SPEY DOG < 15KG - $160.00

Total: $344.00

I was quoted $150-160 at other vets, but they said it was only for the spay and not for anything extra. So I just assumed my vet was okay priced.