Obedience & Rally-o

Zeus had his first session at puppy school today which we both thoroughly enjoyed. Our trainer thinks Zeus has some potential in obedience trialling. Being a complete noob in this area I have no idea what this would involve.

So I've done some reading and found there is both obedience & rally. I'd love to hear your experiences as far as time commitment involved in training for competition in each of these, & why you chose one over the other (or do them both!)

I have done a bit of rally but obedience is really my passion!

There's no simple answer as to how much time it takes, it really depends on you and your dog and what your goals are for how you want your dog to work. My youngest dog is 16 months and I am taking my time with her to get her working exactly how I want her but I am also training her to be competitive not just to compete (if that makes sense) so I have a very specific goal in mind as to how I want everything.

I would suggest going to lots of rally and obed trials as a spectator and volunteer to steward and help out at your club trials. You can get a good idea of what is involved in competing in each sport and also what competitors you enjoy watching (to give you an idea on what kind of 'style' you like and might want to achieve with your dog)

Edited by huski