Breed Help...please!

maybel

Agree with others about NBTs, homozygous NBTs do not survive pregnancies.

I believe the major concerns are testable diseases and the results of double merles.

But either way I would not recommend an Aussie for what you want.

• Replies 82
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Love all of the breeds so far mentioned,.Also I'm thinking a Japanese Spitz or Keeshond.I have owned both of these breeds and they are fantastic ,loving companions.Both breeds need grooming 6 weekly,and a brush through about once a week.Loyal,fun great in a family environment .If not well trained they can be vocal,but I think this applies to most dogs. Good Luck :)

Thank you for all your comments so far - this is extremely helpful.

In relation to the barking - our back yard is completely closed off from the front yard (solid gates) so this should help. We would definitely plan to visit dog shows to see breeds in real life (some I have some experience with - I grew up with a cocker and a corgi)- I was just wanting to reduce our list a bit or we will need days to get around to see them all! You have given me a lot to think about.

Please keep the suggestions coming - any Finnish Lapphund people out there? They were scoring fairly highly in my research but I am not sure if the reality matches up to the marketing, particularly with respect to the shedding/grooming (I expect shedding to be horrendous a couple of times a year but is it bad all the time?)