Gorgeous Pup

Perfume

I found another pup which I really really like and spoke to the breeder at length. Very nice person, breath of fresh air. I really want this pup, the breeder was going to keep him for showing but he has 4 instead of 6 incisor teeth on his top jaw. Anyone had experience with this sort of thing? Should I or shouldn't I go ahead?

SLOW DOWN ............. the right puppy may be 6 months away . Why the rush? You have in NO way given yourself time to do your research ..... but I am SO glad you are asking D O L :)

BREATHE

ALL baby puppies are beautiful at first glance (and third) ..and we can be sucked in so easily ;)

RESEARCH each breeder/litter .

A pup with obvious missing teeth MAY ( and I am no expert) be the result of breeding to try & get a certain shaped muzzle?

The 'missing' teeth are possibly still in the jaw - with no room to descend . if this is the case - it will be expensive and tricky to fix ....

Xrays will be needed to verify this - and I would NEVER think about purchasing a puppy who needed vet examination /xrays to see something like this.

My suggestion.

Run away now.

I repeat. I saw three breeders and fell in love with two other pups before Ernie. I was heartbroken each time but I had been lurking here for years and knew to wait until the right boy; the right breeder and the right time.

I know you want a pup right now. Been there, done that. And while the dog I bought on impulse I don't regret -- she turned out to be everything I didn't want temperament wise.

This time, I waited. And had my heart broken. But Ernie is hands down on track to be one of the best dogs I've ever owned.

go and see the breeder and the pup: you appear to be in a hell of a hurry to buy a puppy.

Take your time: do your homework.