New Puppy, Older Cat

RedFeather

In about 5 weeks we will be welcoming a puppy into our home! It is my first time owning a dog, hubs had dogs growing up, but I don't think he did much of the 'puppy' side of things - I think that was mostly handled by his mum.

My biggest concern at the moment is our older fur baby, my 7 year old cat. She's a shy beastie and I'm really worried about how she'll respond.

The current plan is crate training in the dining room, where there are tiles. So there'll be a crate and a play pen in there. It's adjacent to the kitchen where the cat currently gets fed, although I'm thinking of moving her feeding place up onto a bench in the laundry to prevent puppy from eating the cat food once he's released from the play pen. The dining room also joins onto the laundry, where the kitty litter box is.

Should I change her feeding arrangements now? That way it's normal by the time puppy comes? And then just keep on as normal so she has to pass the puppy whenever she wants to eat, and also to get to her litter? Is that the best approach unless the really really doesn't want to go near the invader and refuses to eat and use her litter?

I'm not too worried about dog/cat relations otherwise. I don't think puppy (a finnish lapphund) is going to hurt her when he's little, and Astrid (the cat) is old enough to know she's the boss (well, she's the boss and me and hubs lol). I'm pretty sure that so long as she doesn't just retreat behind the couch and stay there indefinitely, a few swipes to the nose and the dog will know where he stands. I'm just so anxious she's going to hate us for getting this puppy, and never speak to us again and stop eating and oh god I'm such an anxious fur mama!

I can only assume that with the vast numbers of dog owners here someone has had a similar experience. Please, help!

Very briefly….