Is Seafood Ok?

Roudy

I give my dogs the occasional tinned salmon or tuna(when I feel rich) and tinned sardines...

They LOVE whole, fresh sardines too (but my cat doesn't :shrug: )... they don't really like other types of fish... I tried a few but they just didn't like it as much...

Seafood is good for dogs but I will leave it for the nutrition and diet people to say why exactly as I am not an expert and not about to become one ;) I will leave it for the pro's!

Cheers :)

yes, I agree seafood is fantastic and is full of Omega oils too, we give our sardines once a week, any left over fish from the table etc. I dont' know about prawns and the like, as we never have any as left overs, lol, but the dogs have broken into a bait bag or two when we have gone fishing and never been ill

Mine often get the homebrand tinned sardines (about 50cents a tin) and totally love them.

Occasionally get fish heads/offal if I'm cooking fish.... as well as prawn heads/shells if I've been peeling them (raw!)

Never had any hint of side effects.... I so hope that this is OK to feed them!

My two get the homebrand sardines or mackeral in oil once or twice a week. They also got a xmas dinner of some leftover cooked king prawns (I took off the heads) - they looooved them :)

I feed raw and know that some people feed their dogs whole salmon heads etc. I haven't been brave enough to do this yet.... the thoughts of those fish eyes popping across the floor somehow gross me out! LOL :shrug:

My two dogs are on "Eagle Pack" dry food & the variety is samon, sardine & anchovy. The only concern I would have is the salt content of smoked salmon, but in small amounts it should be fine i think. Once i put some cured salmon (nice big chuncks) on crakers on the coffee table for myself of course & I got distracted for about 30 seconds & they were gone!

My dog get raw whole fish every so often. Yes head and guts etc.