My 15 Year Old Toy Poodle Had A Seizure This Morning & Is At The E

Pepi

Hello Everyone,

I am a newbie on here and wanted to find some comfort with the situation i am in with people who will know and understand.

My 15 year old toy poodle named Pepi has been diagnosed with heart failure about 2 years ago and has been taking medication for it and smooth sailing. He is on Fortekor, Frusimide & Aminyllin. 1/2 tablet of each twice daily.

About 2 weeks ago he had a seizure, we rushed him to the vet but he was back to normal by the time we got there.

This mornnig about 11am he had another seizure but this time by the time we got there - some 10 mins later he kept going. The vets gave him 3 lots of valium in 10 minute intervals and he was still seizuring and then they gave him another drug called Phenobarbitone.They were able to control the seizuring but it took them a fair amount of time - at least an hour.

The vet said he had enough drugs to put a 20kg dog under anaesthetic and he is only about 5kg.

The vets were shutting and they said he needed constant monitoring and we were sent to the emergency vet.

The emergency vet wasnt optimistic and said she had never seen an animal survive and come out alive from something like this.

His temperature was dropping rapidly and they've got him on a heat pad and some fluids.

She said there was only 5% of survivial.

I dont know what to do. I am trying not to keep false hope but something tells me he is going to pull through. I am just waiting now to see what happens from here. I am so upset and distraught.

When partner picked him to take him to emergency, i was a mess and couldnt hold him and he called out to our little boy and he half opened an eye and the emergency vet said she couldnt see how that was possible as he isnt responding.