Bike dogs

Stitch

Last week I did something that I have never done before....I spoke to someone I didn't know about the way they were treating their dog.

It was a 25C day and the family of 4 were out riding their bikes on a shared pathway and 'dad' had their Staffie on a lead running beside his bike.

The dog was overweight, panting heavily and clearly struggling to run beside him but nevertheless it did its best to keep up.

It wasn't until I watched the dog going away from me that I realised that it was 'pacing' and at the speed a normal dog would run flat out.

It was very obvious that the dog had a severe hip problem.

I just couldn't keep my concern to myself and when I passed the family later on at the kids park I asked if their dog had a medical problem.

Yes they said, it has a hip problem and they had taken it to the vet for that.

I went on to explain to them that the dog was obviously in pain and suggested that it might be happier if they allowed their dog to go slower rather than having to run beside the bike for kilometres.

The conversation on both sides was polite.....I am just hoping that it might give them pause to consider how they are treating their dog....obviously in ignorance.

Why is it that many people just don't think about what they are asking their dogs to do??

Hopefully this family might think a bit more in the future.

• Like 5

Good on you for keeping it polite - that is the very best way to engage strangers and has the best chance of them actually listening to you.:thumbsup:

I wonder if their vet had suggested that their dog would be much more comfortable if he lost weight which would mean less stress on the sore joint? So they have gone all out and done a "Biggest Loser" weight reduction exercise program for the poor thing, instead of regular gentle exercise. No doubt the vet would be horrified at the misunderstanding. With the best of intentions, they could have made the problem worse.:(

• Like 3