The Unsharp Mask Tool

Collie_lover

Hey you photoshop experts does the "unsharp mask" tool sharpen photos or blur them?

Now firstly I'm no expert so my answers don't count as expert opinions, they're just my own opinions from tinkering with PS

When I use it on furred animal photos it definitely sharpens up the image so much you can almost see the individual hairs, so I say it sharpens

I have been using it and i think it is sharpening my images alittle but i am confused about it's name!

Can't help you with why its called that? I just use it cause it works

To get a photo to be crisply sharp is the unsharp mask tool the one to use?

If you are happy with the effects you are getting then yes it's the one to use. But I will be interested to see what other suggestions might be given by others as I don't venture out side of a handful of features and I know I'm missing out on a heap of cool tricks and techniques.

thanks!

Your welcome, sorry had to answer that too :thumbsup:

Yes, it sharpens them. It's based on a darkroom technique of overlaying a transparency with an identical one and shifting it just very slightly to improve the edge sharpness......masking an "unsharp" image to make it sharper.

It can also be used to improve contrast in your image.

If you would like a tutorial on a very basic unsharp mask technique, pm me with your email address and I'll send one to you.

I read a quick way of doing it is to crank it right up and then select the 'fade' command from the drop down menu and lessen the strength to your taste how it affects the image. I haven't sharpened any shots yet as I loathe image editing (because I am lazy and hate spending time on photos, I like taking them, I hate resizing, cropping etc).

Yes, it sharpens them. It's based on a darkroom technique of overlaying a transparency with an identical one and shifting it just very slightly to improve the edge sharpness......masking an "unsharp" image to make it sharper.