Pet Medical Crisis Fund

kayla1

Great story, and it's good to see that all donations go directly to helping the animals. link

Pet Medical Crisis Fund established after whopping $30,000 vet bill

Updated about an hour ago

Jennifer Hunt spent $30,000 on vet bills in a year to save the life of her eight-year-old rescue border collie, Jed, and said he was worth every cent.

The registered nurse from Melbourne realised most others could not afford to do the same, so she started a charity to help them.

Nearly nine years later, the Pet Medical Crisis Fund has distributed around $350,000 to save more than 450 pets.

Jed's story

Ms Hunt adopted Jed from a rescue group but he ruptured discs in his back while chasing seagulls in 2009.

Ms Hunt's vet said surgery for Jed would cost $10,000 and he would likely be a paraplegic, so recommended putting him down.

She told the vet she did not want Jed to be put down.

"I'm a registered nurse, I fix people, and I can afford to pay," Ms Hunt said to the vet.

However that was not the end of the vet bills as Jed ruptured two more discs and required an additional $20,000 of surgery.

"I was told most people would put their dog to sleep and I asked 'Am I doing the wrong thing by my dog?'," Ms Hunt said.

"The vet said 'No', it was just that most people couldn't afford it."

Which was the reason why she decided to start the charity  to be able to contribute to vet expenses for people not in a financial position to pay themselves.

"It started with [Jed's] vet. I said I wanted to start a fund to help people who can't do what we've done," Ms Hunt said.

"The vet said it as a good idea and then I turned it into a charity."

The charity not only helps pet owners and their pets, but it also assists vets by not having to absorb the costs associated with treating pets free of charge.

"We've discovered we don't just help the pensioner and you don't just help the pet, you actually help the vet," she said.