Advice Needed Asap

sheree_e4

My dogs had a dissagreement eailer today :) and 2 are booked in to come to work (i am a vet nurse) with me tomorrow........................

Matilda chipped her canine tooth so it will more that likely be removed as the pulp is showing but I was wondering if anyone has had a cap/crown put on their dogs tooth?

We have never been asked to do this for the whole 14mths I have been nursing so there are some questions I would like answered if at all possible.

1.How long will a cap stay on for?(i mean will they last with a dog chewing bones etc)

2.cost?

3.do you regret not getting it capped?(those who opted to remove the tooth)

4.do you wish you had just got the tooth removed in the first place?(those who chose to get a cap done)

:p in advance

Edited by sheree_e4

sorry i can only answer for one side i've only ever had them removed when broken bad

i have no regrets at removing them once the tooth is removed and the gum healed i don't have to worry they may re-break the tooth and all mine have healed fine with no problems and now you wouldn't even know they have a tooth missing unless you look

the last one i had removed OH feed her a chicken frame two days later when i realised what he had done ran out to her in a panic thinking she wouldn't be able to eat it or it would hurt her gum and just as i got there she was crunching the last bit with no problems

is the reason you are wanting to cap the tooth is so you can show her? or other

dfa

is the reason you are wanting to cap the tooth is so you can show her? or other

dfa

She is a purebred Reg Koolie but cannot be shown as they can only be reg on the sporting register.ATM :thumbsup: maybe one day!

I was just wondering as I have not actually seen it done but have heard of it.

More for me I guess so she does not look 'different' to the others :laugh: