Advice For New Puppy Owner Please

mplsv

Hi, we are collecting our new puppy on the 22nd and would appreciate some advice please because it has been several years since I have owned a dog and even longer since I had a puppy!

I plan to take pup to puppy preschool so know I will get lots of information and advice there but I wanted to give her a couple of weeks to settle in first.

I also want to be prepared and have everything ready BEFORE she comes home.

Can anyone recommend a link, topic or (easily available) book outlining the basics of what needs to be or should be done in the first few months of a dogs life? Eg worming / vaccination schedule, type of foods to be fed, suitable treats and toys etc.

It was only after we decided to take the pup that my brain just froze and I panicked thinking “what do I do, what do I do!” I almost feel like I did when I brought my firstborn home from hospital lol.

We are not complete newbies to animal care as we do have a cat which is fed good quality food, wormed, vaccinated and well cared for but we got him as an adult and missed all the very young animal stuff.

Apologies if this is in the wrong section.

Thanks

Hi, and welcome to the forum.

The puppy's breeder should provide information on diet, worming and vaccinations, and probably some other helpful information as well.

I think you should contact them for information.

Basics are

Bed

Grooming Items - depends on breed

Puppy Shampoo

Bowls - food and water (not plastic)

Collar and Lead

Flea & tick preparation (although this could wait until you get the pup)

Place to keep the pup at night - investigate crate training if you wish, I don't care for crates, but you will want to contain the pup somewhere at night.

Toys - soft fluffy ones, balls, squeaky toys - Latex is best. Rope chew toys