Photography Tips For Dog Shows

leopuppy04

Some of you know I'm quite new to the SLR/ photography world - am still learning the ropes in a big way, so to speak.

I have previously taken shots at shows, including movement shots with my old point and shoot.

We had our club's open show today and with my showie busy with pups, I thought I'd go along and practice with my camera :)

We were indoors and since I am still learning the ways of the camera, I set it onto 'sports mode' (assuming it would be good for movement shots), came home and was grossly dissappointed with the quality. Most of them are blurry or in focus, but the dogs feet are all blurry. I didn't get ONE shot that was as crisp and clear as I did on my P&S.

Anyone know why this may be and what I can do to improve my shots?!

I must admit - I was expecting at least a *few* good ones in there, since I usually get some nice ones on a P&S (really crisp and clear)

Guest Tess32

For indoor shots at shows, I basically pump up the ISO to at least 1600, and set the camera on aperture priority and on the maximum aperture. This will allow the most light in and allow for faster shutter speeds. Also should be set on AI servo mode (or equivalent on the brand).

If you check the information on each photo and find out what shutter speed you got and what ISO the camera used, that will be your answer - most likely too low. I think on some cams, the basic modes don't increase the ISO as far as it can go.

To get the feet in focus, at a dog travelling quite fast, you need at least 1/500 depending on the breed, and that can be very hard to get indoors - simply not enough light.

I thought the indoors might have been part of the issue as all other shows I've shot have been outdoors.

The camera was set at ISO 800 but not sure on shutter speed. Appeture was about 4.0 -5.0 I think, depending on zoom (was using a basic 55 - 250mm zoom)