Prey Drive - Way To Test?

• Replies 103
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I am no expert but I guess it depends on how you define prey drive. I think of it as the dog's desire to chase and grab things, so a good way to get an idea of whether or not your dog is prey driven is to see if it likes to chase toys, tug with you, run after "prey items" that are moving, gets excited when he hears a squeaky toy etc.

ok, I'll give an example to explain what I'm trying to ascertain, my dog loves to chase and catch toys, enjoys squeaky toys and like to chase skinks and birds, using the command "leave it" works 99% of the time, for example she discovered a baby blue tongue and followed it, tail wagging and sniffing, but she did not make contact and obeyed me when I told her to leave it, she does this with most live things we come across wether they be moving fast or slow. We did though have a baby magpie in the garden that could not fly and she chased it, in doing so her demeamour changed, she became highly excitable and did not listen to me and snapped at the bird, I ended up tackling her then having to drag her into the house, does this mean that when is is playing with toys she is in prey drive or when she chased the baby magpie is she in prey drive, or is this something totally different? or is are both situations prey drive, just different degrees?

Just on this -

Lets take two hypothetical dogs -

Dog A

- Shows strong prey drive towards inappropriate items - cars/trucks/bikes/birds anything that moves (would require significant correction to stop a chase)

- Same dog however has showed very little interest in chasing balls/frisbees/tugs

Dog B

- Shows prey drive towards appropriate items - balls/tugs/stock (but in an appropriate context)

- Dog B has however shown very little interest in chasing in appropriate objects