Jobs With Dogs

Evening all...

I'm rather new to this forum, stumbling across it by accident when searching for various dog training courses.

My query is directed to those currently working withing the field of canine training, handling and behavioural management. Whilst I crave knowledge and a deep understanding of the psychology of dogs, and dream of one day being in a position to be able to rescue "problem" dogs, I want to know - is there a real possibility of earning a living in this field, or is it nothing short of a pipe dream? If so, following completion of the NDTF cert III, where do I go from there?

Any advice from anyone with a knowledge of the industry would greatly appreciated.

Thanks Cosmolo

I currently work as a nurse, and have done for the past 5 years - so I've been exposed at a vast range of people, their personalities and quirks, and am pretty good at dealing with people, especially during emotional times. However, I realise whilst I am good at my job, it is not a passion - and if I continue for any length of time chances are, I'll end up bitter and twisted or just like the multitude of dementia patients I've looked after during in my time. Such a realisation forced me to re-evaluate what I want in life, and where my passions lie. Whilst training my latest addition to our family, it became apparent to me that dog have always held a very special place in my life, the joy I get out of training them and watching their personalities develop is unsurpassed by anything else in my life.

Have you got any advice on where to start, how to gain any experience beyond the official training courses? To be able to establish a training school for not only dog owners, but also create a facility to help so called problem dogs is my end goal.

Thanks again

I suggest get yourself out there and volunteer with a trainer if possible. Look at the trainers and training clubs in your area, or that you would be willing to travel to.