Why Does This Happen?

m-j

Hi

Since becoming a crossover trainer one thing I have noticed is is once I start training (basic obedience) my dogs or any rescues that I have had come through here will just start letting me through the door first when coming from the back yard to inside i.e. they will run to the door and wait for me to get there and then follow me in, rather than running ahead of me and going through the door. Not every single time but certainly the majority of the time. I have never ever trained for this, the only time I do any door training is when I want one dog to go in and the others to stay out and I give the wanted dog permission to go in but the dog goes through the door first.

Not absoluely sure that it is just because I've started training them and are giving them boundries etc (as has been suggested to me elsewhere not this forum) because when I was a traditional trainer the dogs would run through the door first. Just wondering if anyone is able to give me an explanation or point me in a direction that may explain why.

Keeping an eye on the keeper of the good things. ;) If you're a good trainer, those good things might be up for grabs any time. You snooze, you lose. Dogs suddenly have a lot of reasons to keep track of you and make sure they are heading where you're heading.

Maybe.

Keeping an eye on the keeper of the good things. ;)