Dog Show Newbie

The Spencinator

Ok guys I'm new to the whole show scene but would like to go to a couple of dog shows and check them out. Hopefully this is the right place to ask my questions. First of all, am I allowed to just rock up? I assume you don't have to actually be showing a dog to enter the grounds? Also, how do I find out when shows are on and which breeds are going to be at said shows? I'm looking for shows close to Adelaide if anyone can help me out. Is there any etiquette I should know about? I would like to avoid putting my foot in it if at all possible :laugh:

Thanks guys :)

Yes, you can just show up to watch. I'd definitely recommend going to get an idea of how it all works. If you join Dogs SA you will receive monthly magazines listing upcoming shows. Most shows are all breeds- there will be a judge listed for each group, otherwise the listing will say whether a show is just for a single group or breed. A lot of dog shows in SA are at SACA park in Kilburn. I'm a newbie to the show ring myself (haven't shown for over a year though!) and have found a lot of people to be very friendly and helpful. Best not to talk to folk if they're about to go in the ring, but otherwise exhibitors are usually happy to chat in my experience.

Probably talk to your dog's breeder, I'm sure they will be happy to give advice. :)

Edited by grizabella