Agility Advice Please

I take my big dog Digby to agility.

I just do it to spend time with him and have some fun with him.

I don't want to compete - I'm too busy with kids etc.

I'm really happy to have their instruction. There are a couple of things that i want to do my own way though.

For example because Digby is a giant dog and we're new to it all, I don't really want him jumping 600 all the time; I just want the jumps to be just high enough for him to need to jump.

Also I wanted to experiment with him learning to weave using my hand as a target (he targets fine). But the instructors just basically said "no" and if i go to do they say "don't do it that way!"

These people do know a lot more about agility than I do - that is a given.

But at the same time - I have been clear that I don't want to compete. And even though I'm new to agility I think people shouldn't mind if I want to do some things my own way.

Anyway i am all filled with doubts now.

I don't know whether to hold my ground with these things.

Or whether I should just do what I'm told by the instructors. Afterall I know they know more about agility than I do.

But at the same time I can't see why it would bother them for me to experiment a little with different methods?

afterall if i fail they get to laugh at me :)

Where are you training? And how old is digby?

If you do not wish to compete, I don't see a problem with you jumping him lower (but I wouldn't jump him too low)

as for the weaving, if you really want to do it your way, I would train him to weave at home & skip the weaves at training until he is weaving independently. Once he is weaving, noone will care how he learnt.

Not all instructors at a club level are great trainers/handlers but many are.

From the perspective of someone who has done a lot of instructing, it is really hard to get people to see the bigger picture sometimes. I always encourage people to train the same way, whether or not they wish to compete.