Photo Goofs

Ripley

Because I'm a beginner and therefore can stuff things up the first time I try something before I learn from them, I wonder if anyone else more experienced still has some goofs when taking holiday pics or even prof pics?

My recent goof was metering AFTER I attached my Grad filter and also not ensuring it aligned properly and therefore the foreground was too dark.

I don't have an excuse other than it was a new concept and I was extremely bleary eyed as it was 4.45am.

Doh!

Edited by Ripley

OH god, yes. I personally make goofs all the time - but not the same goofs over and over...at least I learn :D For me, it's part of the process - I like experimenting and trying new things and usually I just wander off and do it without thinking it through or researching the correct way to try it first :laugh:

Most common goof I've seen in the pro circles? Not remembering to change the ISO. Sometimes no biggie but other times can make life a bit difficult!

That's half the fun!

I use to get somethng similar except the dark part would b black and the other part would be normal BUT I was using a flash inside at the time. Found I had to turn the camera off and take out the battery to fix it and take the flash off wipe and put back. Not sure why it happened though - another photographer got the same thing as well using a flash at night (different canon models - yours mine and his).

Is the battery fresh or starting to run down a bit when it happens?

I use to get somethng similar except the dark part would b black and the other part would be normal BUT I was using a flash inside at the time. Found I had to turn the camera off and take out the battery to fix it and take the flash off wipe and put back. Not sure why it happened though - another photographer got the same thing as well using a flash at night (different canon models - yours mine and his).

Is the battery fresh or starting to run down a bit when it happens?