Traning In Drive

Oooookay....

This may be little long winded, and confusing, and maybe more than a little stupid but I will ask anyway :love:

I attended the Training In Drive workshop in Melb last year by K9 force and Pro-K9. Which was excellent by the way, I got so many ideas from it and left feeling all inspired.

As fate would have it I not long after purchased an e collar. As there was some immediate issues I had to address with my dog I decided to do this with the e collar before I started training in drive. Long story. And before anyone asks I was following K9 forces program for my e collar.

I am now at the stage where I would like to re look at drive training. I have read the other thread, read my notes and refreshed my memory. But I am having a bit of confusion that I'm hoping someone can help me with.

My dog seems to have a high prey drive. She will chase anything that moves :thumbsup: As chasing some things is definitely NOT OK i.e sheep, chickens. I have been working over the last while trying to train her not to chase these things. As I have been actively trying to suppress her prey drive in regards to these animals have i effectively made it harder to now attempt to train her using prey drive?

She still seems to have plenty of drive. She goes nuts for the orbee when we play and will chase things if I am not there to instruct her otherwise.

Second question. I'm trying to work out how to incorporate drive training into her training program. I get that you should use two sets of commands when training, one for drive and one for other so she will know when to expect to receive a prey reward and when to except another reward, praise etc. But in the other thread I think someone said that taking to Obedience school can have implications down the track as it teaches the dog to suppress prey drive. So if Obedience training is not good for drive training how do you continue to teach your dog basic manners and obedience. Does this make sense?