2 X 2 Weave Method

Hi everyone,

This is my first post here as I am a new member but have really enjoyed looking over everyones ideas so far.

I have just started agility with my dog in SA and as a purely positive trainer I have had to do a lot of training research myself because the clubs in my area are not clubs that train with purely positive methods. I have come across Susan Garretts 2x2 weave pole method which looks fantastic and I would like to give it a try. I have done a fair amount of research on the net as well as watching lots of you-tube videos but unfortunately I cannot afford the DVD at this point in time to get the whole picture.

Can anyone help with giving me a broad summary of the method?

Where I get stuck is the first part - eg getting the behaviour of going straight through the two weave poles. Do you shape it? My dog is good at free shaping but when the weave poles come out is waiting for me to target him through or he targets the pole and doesn't go past it. I guess I need to break it down into much smaller steps eg look at the pole, step towards the pole, move towards the pole etc.

I have a very food motivated dog rather than toys (so not sure if this method will even work because of this).

Any help would be much appreciated.

Yes the first step is to shape through the poles. No body movement from you or encouragement to go through the poles.

Susan says that you can do it with a food dog but I think it would be easier with a toy dog. I was ok with 4 poles with my mainly food dog but after that I ran into some difficulties. If you can get the dog to go to a food bowl or something from the start rather than throwing the food that might help.

I have a completely food driven dog and we taught her weaves with this method... I have to say that her weaves are the only thing we get consistent congratulations on so I can definitely say that you can use this method for food driven dogs!