Should I Or Shouldnt I?

Ok first off a little background story. When I got Toby I had big plans and dreams to trail him, I did enter both obedience and agility trials but that didnt work out to good so I gave up on him, he's just not the working kind.

After loseing my beautifull old lab Bomber my step dad bought a shy little lab x golden home she didnt stay shy for long. I've been doing alot of

training with her and very keen to stick to it. Now here's my problem, CJ at 8 months ( tomorrow ) has so much engery, is bright, outgoing, picks up things quckily, shows good focus and is very toy and food moitivated basically the dog i've always wanted. After a bad experince at the last trial I said I would never step foot in another trial ring again.

But CJ is showing so much promise that I have been thinking about trialing her. I just dont know if im brave enough to do it.

Edited by whitka

I say go for it!

I'm hoping to trial with Daisy by the end of the year, I have no experience with trialling and did not get her with the intention of doing competition obedience - but we both enjoy training and I figure why not give it a go :rofl:

We could be laughed out of the ring (she is a beagle after all and I'm a very inexperienced handler!) but I won't know until I try. Don't worry about trialling so much, worry about whether or not you and your dog are having a good time and go from there :rofl:

Do you have a club near you that does mock trials? It might be worth trying a couple to see how you go :)

Edited by huski

I say go for it!

I am competing with my Kaos - he is the first dog I have competed with (after wanting to trial with previous two dogs but didn't work out for one reason reason or another - Zoe is dog aggro and Diesel isn't interested and health problems). I am finding some differences in our trialling and training performances which I am trying to address, but I am sure things improve with experience. I am happy to be giving it a go!