Cooking For Puppy

Pets In Stone

Hi there,

I am a new first time puppy owner. Maurice is 11 weeks old and we have had him one week. He is beagle x cocker spaniel and the cutest thing !!!

When we picked him up, the pet store told us to feed him puppy biscuits in the morning and in the afternoon and nothing else. But i am finding he is starving and dives into his food, and once finished is looking for more.

Two questions

1. How often DO i feed him ? we all know that we like food every four hours or so.

2. When can i start making some home made food for him ... ie mince, rice and vegies and gravy (or whatever suggestions you all may have) remembering i am new to this.

Next is my biting issue, but i will read through your posts, i may find my answer there...

post-10708-1149759971_thumb.jpg

Hi and welcome!

Firstly, the mix of breeds in your pup suggests that you will be conned into thinking he is starving...that's just a breed trait of the beagle and they're very food-motivated, as is the cocker. You can use this to your advantage in obedience training b/c your pup will work very hard for food treats! Just be sure to monitor his weight b/c both breeds can be prone to gaining weight if the diet/exercise mix is out of whack.

Secondly, the pet shop is incorrect. Young pups need three feeds per day, morning, lunchtime, and evening and often a snack before bed too. Pups are growing fast and need smaller but more frequent meals than grown dogs. Reduce to twice-daily meals when the pup is about five months of age.