Is a Border Collie right for me?

Melert

Hello!

I'd like to get a Border Collie. I've been thinking about it for a while now and I'd just like to run some things by people who have experience with them to get some feedback first. I want to be prepared etc. 

Is a Border Collie right for me?

I live in the suburbs my yard is quite "average" in size, but by no means is it tiny or anything. I jog in a large park every day for at least 1.5 hours (usually more) and I'd love a jogging partner. I'm home most of the day as I do part time study and I'm working on setting up my own business. I'm actually studying animal behaviour and I will soon offer my own training services (I love training dogs). I owned, in the past, a Shetland Sheepdog and I used to take him everywhere with me, we'd jog together etc. If I were to own a Border Collie, I would dedicate hours to training, and exercise everyday. I'd also want to take him/her everywhere with me (when ppossible). In the near future I'd also like to do hiking and bush walking as well, would a Border Collie enjoy this type of thing? I'd also like a dog that could participate in agility and other kinds of events like that. I don't know what else I could say that's relevant at the moment?

Any tips on what it's like to own one?

Are Border Collies generally playful? Affectionate? 

Thanks guys!

Edited by Melert

I don't have BC's nor ever owned one but from what I have read from those that do, mental exercise is the secret to keeping a BC happy in the suburbs ( or anywhere for that matter ). Plenty of BC's compete in agility and yes would love bush walks. There are some health problems in the breed so my advice would be to only buy from a registered breeder that has health tested. Goggle should point you to websites for the various states breed clubs which should have heaps of info on them. Also look here and here

• Like 1