Soon To Be New Puppy Owner

Falling_dawn

HI every one I’m new Cavalier owner I get her next week at 8 weeks

Just asking the experts

When do you start walking her?

What sort of lead would you recommend?

What sort of bed is best?

And most importantly will she be ok in the house alone for 1-2 hours or should I take her to my parents house if I need to go to the shop.

We have a cat any ideas on the best way to introduce them to each other.

I have seen a picture of a puppy attacked by the family cat It lost an eye I am scared this will happen to my new baby I will not leave them alone together but I would like them to be able to get along.

HI every one I’m new Cavalier owner I get her next week at 8 weeks

Just asking the experts

Welcome to the site! :laugh:

All my opinions below... others will probably give other advice! :flame:

Me, I'm no expert, but see the below...

Put a flat collar on her and the lightest lead you can get as early as possible, and start walking her around the yard... Do a search on vaccinations to decide when you feel comfortable with her being on the ground outside of your property...

A light one, i have a very light material webbing lead for my staffy pup, the lighter the better IMO - I don't believe they should feel the lead unless YOU want them to.

And most importantly will she be ok in the house alone for 1-2 hours or should I take her to my parents house if I need to go to the shop.

We have a cat any ideas on the best way to introduce them to each other.

I have seen a picture of a puppy attacked by the family cat It lost an eye I am scared this will happen to my new baby I will not leave them alone together but I would like them to be able to get along.