Strengths/personal Qualities

Ok fluffy, lighthearted topic. :eek:

Ok what do you think you have going for you to make you a good trainer? (Or in my case, hopefully what will help me become a good trainer.

Now this is just a little bit of fun. I am a complete newbie to the training game, so it has been interesting and so much fun.

What have I got going for me -

I understand that it's not my dog's fault when she doesn't perform or get something.

I have nearly endless patience, I have never had to cut a training session short due to frustration. (Never say never I guess, but so far, so good). I have a rule to always end on a high note, even if it was the worst training session ever!

I listen to my instructers, to what they actually have to say and I don't take constructive criticism in a negative light. I also realise that one instructer's opinion isn't the be all and end all, and it never hurts to seek other ideas as well.

That's about it really. :)

What I don't have going for me -

I am completely uncoordinated.

I can be completely scatterbrained.

I am still learning and sometimes I feel terribly in incompetent! Actually most of the time....

Maybe because I am new at this (relatively so) I get soooo excited over the smallest development/achievement. And I mean small. :eek: I hope that never changes though - it is great motivation for myself and my dog.

Anybody want to share their experiences?

I definitely have experience as I am on to dog number 5! :eek:

I am good at planning training sessions and planning what I will do when things go pearshaped.

I have learnt not to flog things. A 5 minute training session can be more productive than an hour long session

I have learnt that if things go wrong I obviously haven't explained it well enough - since my dogs don't do things wrong on purpose.

I have learnt to ask questions of people who are more experienced than I am