Thoughts On Business Cards

jrm88

So I am still fairly new to photography, but I want to get more practice with other people/animals. I have designed two business cards to give out to people who might want photos taken of their pets/children. I wont be charging any money as I really am just after practice. Just wanted your thoughts on my designs!

Now I am more looking after advice on the layout and the actual card, not what is written at this stage. Thanks!

post-21285-1263812874_thumb.jpg

post-21285-1263812904_thumb.jpg

I am a big believer of selling your product or showcasing it is a better word. So my vote is for the first too. If you were in SA you would be welcome to practice by taking photos of my crew from horses, camels, birds of prey to domestic pets - no shortage of volunteers here. Well done and congratulations

I do like the clean look of the second one, but the graphics could mean anything at first glance (breeder, pet groomer, vet, pet shop...)

I think the 1st one, or any example of your photography, would show off your skills and make your card more noticeable from the pile of cards many people amass.

Thanks guys, I was thinking the first one to for the same reason, I need to find a dog though I think to photograph and use on the business card as that is what I mainly want to photograph. Thanks :thumbsup:

I would consider a slightly thicker text for the first card as it kinda blends out a bit (it is hard to read it without clicking on the picture and seeing it full size, where as I can read the second one without expanding it

both have pros and cons but I would consider the one with the photo. I would consider a photo of a dog, horse or cat as I think that they are the more popular photo subjects so more likely to attract someones eye.

Just my thoughts any how =]

*DOH just re read your last post about looking for a dog picture, yes good idea =]

Edited by altheau