Puppy Toilet Training

Oscar123

I have just become a proud mum to spoodle puppy Oscar who is 8 weeks old. I am just wondering what is the best method of toilet training. I got the pads and its been a bit of a hit and miss. I have taken him out into my courtyard and he now and then goes out to do his business. Any tips would be great. I am also not familiar with this crate technic and if I should try it.

Hi!

Congrats on becoming a puppy mummy! :laugh: We have had our 14 week old CKCS X Cavoodle for 6 weeks and we are STILL working on the thoilet training! She is MUCH better though compared to when we first got her.

Here is what we did (I'm no expert...just sharing our story). We didn't crate train. We took Poppy out every half hour to an hour to begin with. When she wee'd or poo'd we would say a que word. Ours is "quick quick" in a happy voice. Like she is doing something good! Then after the wee/poo we did the big "Good Girl" thing and gave her a treat. It was hard work...and sometimes we forgot and she would wonder off and do it in the house.

Now I can take her out, say "Quick Quick", she will look at me and go off to do either a wee or poo or both. She really does associate the que word with the toileting action.

Its important to ONLY say the que word when they are actually wee'ing or poo'ing to begin with though. We still treat her after she has done something outside. We also leave the back doors open for her when we are home and unless its raining she goes out by herself and does her thing.

Hope that helps! :)

Poppydog is giving good advice :) taking pup out frequently is a great idea. You may need to go out every 20 minutes-- and STAY there until puppy does what you want- then heaps of praise!! :rofl:)

Pups need you to help train both their brain and bladder- they cannot hold for long, and they need routine :rofl: