Increasing Milk Supply For Lactating Bitch

Bilbo Baggins

I am very happy to talk to anyone about Lactation problems. 0437570650

I cannot stress enough the importance of fenugreek as a galactagogue.

Below is an excellent article by a Lactation Consultant/doctor. She also decribes its other uses.

http://www.breastfeedingonline.com/fenugreekoverlooked.shtml

"Fenugreek's mechanism of action seems to be related to its' propensity to increase sweat production. As you may remember, the breasts are modified sweat glands. I am one who almost never sweats and that may be why I am a poor milk producer." Quote from article.

In 1996 I had attended a post speciality show seminar by the judge who was a naturapath in Finland. She discussed using naturapathic remedies for increasing milk production, amongst other things.

I became a Lactation Consultant in 1996 and learnt about managing human lactation including increasing supply.

Some 6 months later a friend and I had 5-7 day prem litter where the mum also got mastitis and reduced her milk supply. We got some remedies from one of the attendees at the seminar who was also a naturapath.We used our lactation knowledge(she was an ABA Councellor) to express mum, latch the pups and survive, 5 of her pups and 1 of mine.

I had had my girl desexed at caesar as it was her last litter and she lost a bit of blood. Only 1 pup survived and was a poor feeder from day 1.

When the other pups were born I put my pup with the new mum and she greatly improved.

When the milk supply dropped and we got the remedies we also gave them to my girl who by now was about 10 days post birth and had not had her pup for about 7 days.

We started them about 6pm and by 8am the next morning she had expressable milk which she did not have the night before. We felt this was a good indication of the remedies working.

We did not give her back her pup as she was not interested in it.