Problem With My Dog's Eye...what Could This Be?

Update - May 2014: Just in case anybody has found this topic because their dog is experiencing similar symptoms, I thought I would post an update. I'm no expert, so I have no idea if Jessie's illness from last year is linked to what happened to her, but I want to share this. Jessie went off her food again a couple of weeks ago, she vomited a few times and became progressively weaker and was not herself. Unfortunately, she ended up having a tumour next to her liver. It did not show in her blood results or an x-ray, but could be seen in an ultrasound. She was a very sick dog and our family made the decision to put her to sleep 9 days ago.....R.I.P. Jessie :(

My vet is closed at the moment so I will be calling them first thing when they open tomorrow...

Last night when I went to feed Jessie, she was very picky with her food and was only taking tiny mouthfuls. At one point she stood back from her bowl and looked at my brother's dog's food (he eats a different type of dog food). To get her to eat her dinner I had to mix some of my brother's dog food into Jessie's food, then she ate it. I figured I must have put too many veggies in her dinner. Later in the evening I noticed that both of her eyes looked quite red, but didn't get too worried because sometimes her eyes get red when her fur goes into her eyes. But I have some eye solution that we use to flush out her eyes occasionally, and that normally helps her. I didn't put any of this in her eyes last night though.

Tonight when I gave her dinner, she wouldn't even touch it, then when I looked at her I saw that there is a problem with her left eye. It is swollen and there is a bulge on her eyeball. What could this be? Other than not eating, her behaviour hasn't changed, but I'm worried about her eye :(

Jessie is 9.5 years old.

IMG_0174_zps51d1e845.jpg

IMG_0177_zps91a206a0.jpg

IMG_0178_zpsc3b617e0.jpg

Edited by fainty_girl

• Replies 69
  • Created
  • Last Reply