City Dogs Learn New Tricks as Hobby Mustering Trend is on the Rise at Sheep Dog Trials

Deeds

Would imagine this would be a great sport for people  and especielly good excercise for the elderly , don't know anything about it   but i've seen it on tv  and like watching it ,, then again i like watching dogs run around , when i was an apprentice i remember working on a farm and used to watch the farmer and his daughter both jump on there little trail bikes  the dogs would jump on one on the tank one on the passenger seat ,  and the 4 dogs and them two would head off over the horizen  and come back with the sheep , so question for you farmers and country people on here ,  which make the best    sheepdog   border collie , kelpie  , or throw in heeler , just interested to know from the people in the know ,, are kelpies and border collies good with cattle has well

• Like 1

I competed in ANKC herding with a border collie about a decade ago. He came from a line of versatile border collies that competed successfully in Obedience and Tracking as well as mustering cattle on a hilly, 1000 acre farm as their “day job”. He was a wonderful dog … a natural heading dog and a wide worker, a good dog for three sheep trialling and a great first herding dog for me to train. He was very successful until I lost him from snake bite. My next dog showed great potential and a very strong eye at three months, when he broke away from me to block the goats my older dog was herding. He would have been a great dog in more experienced or more determined hands and I think he would have excelled in working a big mob of sheep but he worked very close and tended to focus on one sheep in a mob of three, sometimes even going in to grip. I decided that competing with him wouldn’t be kind to him or the sheep. He’s almost in his teens now and he spends his days inside in air conditioning but comes outside to watch the goats and cattle when they come up to the house for food.