Depth Of Field Help Please

Kirislin

• Replies 88
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I had a play with my Canon today in monochrome and wanted a very shallow depth of field. I put it on AV and twiddled the dial but the lowest I could get it to go was f4. What do I need to do to get it lower? I'm new to this.

Linda

It sounds like the lens you were using will only go down to f/4.

The only option...

Buy a faster lens :)

What lens were you using?

I had a play with my Canon today in monochrome and wanted a very shallow depth of field. I put it on AV and twiddled the dial but the lowest I could get it to go was f4. What do I need to do to get it lower? I'm new to this.

Linda

The only option...

aaaaaaaah! so now it starts to make sense, all this talk of faster lenses. I got the kit lenses with the Canon 400D that since I've bought it I hear they're not so good.

Can you hear my teeth gnashing in frustration?

Edited by Kirislin

• 2 weeks later...

The only option...

How can I tell by just looking at my lens what the f stop range is? forgive me if I am not saying it correctly, I dont know camera speak. there's lots of writing on it but no mention of f stops whereas on my dear old film Minolta (that I never learned to use properly :rofl: ) it shows an f stop range of 3.5-22, well, I think thats what it is.

The only option...

How can I tell by just looking at my lens what the f stop range is? forgive me if I am not saying it correctly, I dont know camera speak. there's lots of writing on it but no mention of f stops whereas on my dear old film Minolta (that I never learned to use properly :rofl: ) it shows an f stop range of 3.5-22, well, I think thats what it is.

Yep - that's it - it'll open as wide as f/3.5 and close down to f/22.

The only option...

Yep - that's it - it'll open as wide as f/3.5 and close down to f/22.

But I cant see anything like that on the digital Canon lens so how does one know, just by looking at the modern lens?