Yearly Heartworm Vaccination

suen

Caesar is due to have his annual vaccination this week. I also have to decide on heartworm treatment, which way to go?

I remember reading a thread about the yearly vaccination and that there was a lot against this. I cannot find the thread to refresh my memory so would like some input from other DOLers please. Am I right that the Proheart annual vaccination has been withdrawn from use in the US?

Advice would be appreciated.

Sue

Sue,

I've never used anything else, my last dog (adopted by my folks) was on it from a pup and never had any trouble and Boof n Lilly have had their injections as well with no issue.

I'm only new to DOL so haven't seen the thread you are talking about it, but have never heard anything bad previously.

No doubt someone will tell us what the negatives are!

Cheers Aleesha

The 6 month version is banned in the US. In Canada the label has been changed to say that it is only for dogs who for whatever reason, cannot use other types of heartworm preventative. It seems only in Australia it is actually PROMOTED.

I would guess most of the problems have occured (and there have been fatalities from it) because vets are NOT using it as the label/company tells them to. It is *not* to be given at the same time as a yearly vaccination, and this is clearly stated by the makers of it.

And yet vets promote it as a 'oh do it on the same day, save time!" thing, which is ridiculous.

BTW it is not a vaccination. It is a slow release drug so if your dog does have a reaction to it, remember it has 12 months worth of it in its body.

Personally I don't risk them and go daily or monthly.

Wouldn't touch yearly heart worm with a 40 foot pole.

Far to many problems reported over the years.

As to vaccinations why not do a titre test to see if the dog needs vaccinating.

No point in vaccinating a dog the does not need it.