Footwork

We starting obedience next week and I attended orientation the other day.

I am new to formal obedience training and I was really impressed to hear that dogs will eventually know that if you move off with your left leg you mean for them to follow and if you move off with your right you mean for them to stay!

Now, it's not that I don't think dogs are intelligent and highly trainable - I do. I think I was impressed because I sometimes have trouble with my left and rights. I then figured out that it isn't the concept of left and right they learn, but the body language. Isn't it the same principle involved in learning a hand signal?

I'm sure that most of you don't have trouble with your left and rights, it's just that I happen to be a little uncoordinated and unobservant myself. I will be practising my footwork so it becomes second nature and when I take her for walks I am being consistant with this as well.

Having said all that, I'm still impressed because I feel that it is a very subtle distinction in movement. The instructor seemed to say that dogs seem to pick this up rather quickly whereas I would have thought it might have taken quite a while to master this. What are all your experiences?

Yes, this is a very newbie-type question!

Edited by Emm

Fantastic that you are goign to concentrate on your footwork now, I wish I had done more at the start, instead of getting so far then having to relook at everythign! lol

Dogs pick up on the smallest changes, they are really quite amazing

As long as we are clear and consistent they will have no trouble understanding what we want

Fantastic that you are goign to concentrate on your footwork now, I wish I had done more at the start, instead of getting so far then having to relook at everythign! lol

Dogs pick up on the smallest changes, they are really quite amazing

As long as we are clear and consistent they will have no trouble understanding what we want