Would A Prong Collar Help?

I have an Amstaff bitch who is a terrible puller and I have failed to teach her that she does not need to pull my arm out of its socket. I have been showing her consistently since she was 3 months old, she just turned 1 year. If I give her a correction on a normal choker, she drops to the ground. She started slinking around, like she hates being on the lead. When the OH takes her for walks, she also pulls constantly, and gets very excited and uppity with other dogs. She was OK up until she had her first season (though she always pulled), but now she is becoming a problem, so much so that I dont like to show her. I have to string her up on a lead to get her to look even half decent.

I have not done any obedience work with her, it is not my interest at this point in time, but we have worked constantly on walking on lead, standing, and all the sort of things you do when you show. Yet she cannot even get that part.

So anyway do you think a prong collar might be of help here?

I dont want any arguments over right and wrong, just some sound advice from those who work with prong collars.

Thanks!

Firstly,the dog doe's not know what you want.We teach our dogs how to behave,whether negatively or positively.The slinking around is an indication that this dog is carrying alot of built up resistance.

Yes a prong collar may help,but in all interactions with dogs,we have to look at the role we are playing.Inorder for change to happen with the dog,firstly we must change. Tony

Wouldnt some basic obedience incorporate the sits drops, stands which you are training anyway, they all involve the dog wearing the lead which may help get her used to it?

A prong collar would help with walking but if she hasnt been taught to heel when walking, with turns etc and standing by your side or simple obedience like behaving on a lead that may be your first problem, obedience also gives your dog the message that you are the leader?