Itchy Staffy Pup ...

xJasperx

Hi everyone ... I am new to DOL and dogs :rofl:

I have a 14 week old staffy pup who is constantly scratching mainly his underbelly near his hind legs ... Today a small amount of red rash has started to appear so I was wondering if this could be an allergy :) ... The only thing we have in our back garden is grass, which he loves rolling in and he also loves to roll in tan bark when we go to the park ... Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated ...

Cheers Kylie ...

My dog Tilba has been scratching & biting at her sides since I got her. She did have a few fleas at the time but even when we got rid of them she still scratched. I read on the forums about apple cider vinegar being good for that sort of thing & she's been having it for a few mths now but with her it's not done any good. May work on your pup though.

could it be the meat ???

Yes, it could, beef is one of the more common allergens when it comes to food - but then, so are some types of grains which will be in the dry food. He could also be reacting to the grass or any number of things.

Maybe try taking out the beef and replacing it with something else instead - chicken, goat, lamb etc first and see if it makes a difference. Beware that it could take a few weeks to know whether that is making a difference or not though.

If that doesnt work you could get your vet to rule out things such as mites or mange, then it really is worth getting a referral to a dermatologist - allergies are really hard to work out on your own :)

I wouldn't go changing around with food too much just yet, especially not whilst he is still growing. The more foods you feed now, the harder an elimination diet is going to be later on.

First things first - check your yard for wandering jew - makes dogs itchy!

Next, rule out parasites. A 6 week course of Revolution used every 2 weeks is generally enough to cover fleas and scabies mites.