Who Has The Oldest Dog Here?

lanabanana

Post the age of your dog here and let's see if we can find the oldest dog.

Also, what breed is it and is it usual/unusual for that breed to get to that age?

I know the usual/unusual thing may be a silly question as all dogs are different but i know some breeds have much higher or lower life expectancies.

My dogs don't qualify - they are both young

• Replies 73
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Wow 16 for a St - that's a pretty good age sn't it?

The border collie I grew up with died at 17 - though IMO she should have been PTS 2 years sooner

Don't quote me, I'm not a Saint expert, but giant breeds can sometimes struggle for 10 years

Edited by HeavyPaws

Wow 16 for a St - that's a pretty good age sn't it?

The border collie I grew up with died at 17 - though IMO she should have been PTS 2 years sooner

Don't quote me, I'm not a Saint expert, but giant breeds can sometimes struggle for 10 years

yea, thats what I thought

I thought the general rule was the smaller the dog the bigger the lifespan - with some exceptions obviously

I have a purebred beagle that's 18 and a purebred Pembroke corgi that's 20.

My oldest Maremma is purebred and is 17 in September. I also have a cat in her early 20's.

:rofl: WOW that is amazing Steve. I think I might come & live with you and bring all my dogs so I can have them for as long as possible. What is your secret?

I have a Lhasa Apso...not sure if she's purebred, I suspect not...who is 16 and very sprightly. She's a bit hard of hearing but she CAN hear, and she lives a full and happy life with no health problems aside from a minor skin rash.

the Corgi we grew up with went to late teens, probably shouldnt have though :rofl:

I have met several VERY old cattle dogs 19/20 yo....but i believe they have Dingo way back in their heritage , and Dingos can & do live past 20 yrs ??

And i used to groom a 22 yrs old poodle. That was not fun, poor old dog.