Just Curious....

tlc

Hi guys, I was wondering how many obedience schools out there around Australia, DON'T allow chocker/check/correction chains?? It is just curiousity on my part really. I am an assistant trainer with one of our local obedience clubs and we use the Modern Method, all positive reinforcments and no CC allowed!

All my lot were trained using the positive method on flat collars and it has worked fine for them and me. I do however realize that Check chains have a place and are widely used and I have no objection to that at all, each to thier own and what method suits one dog doesn't suit all dogs.

So what I wondered was if your club doesn't allow check chains, do you still have people come and train with you without the CC and then when they are away from training use the CC?

Also have you had people go and find another club that allows CC?

We have had new puppy people come to class expecting to use CC because they think that is the only method you can train a dog with, they are very pleased and suprised when they see how well the modern method works, which is great as I think it is all about giving people all the information available so they can choose the best method to suit thier dog, especially for new puppy owners.

The first club I went to told me I had to use a CC and I wasnt impressed about this as I thought there had to be another way to train a dog, so I found the other club in town and we never looked back.

I would just like to say also that I am not against correcting the dog in a way that suits the dog if need be, but it is tough as I cannot enforce this at training, I have to stick with the program and it is tough sometimes when it is clear to see the dog needs another sort of training method than just the strait out positive reinforcement.