Suitable Slr/dslr For A Beginner

Ravyk

I know this is probably done to death, but I am currently seriously looking at purchasing my first SLR/DSLR camera.

But...I HAVE NO IDEA!! :eek:

I'm not really new to photography, but I am new to SLR/DSLR cameras. I have used 'point and shoot camera' most of my 'snapping' life and currently have a Panasonic Lumix FZ-28 for awhile now, and its still a great camera, I just want more lense options.

I am looking for a few things,

-mustn't be uber heavy, as it will come with me everywhere.

-must have a wide range of attachable lenses [i want at least a macro lense, telephoto lense and a wide angle lense].

-something that has a reasonably easy menu and manual settings to understand.

Edited by Ravyk

• Replies 62
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'd say a Canon in the rebel range, they're fairly light compared to the rest, they have an auto option which pretty much means they're a fancy point and shoot until you feel ready to venture into a bit more creative controls. Large range of lenses.

The current model numbers range from 450D to 1000D I think. I had a 400D but that's no longer being made.

What about SOL's new camera? I think that's a Canon 350D.

Im also still researching so will be watching this thread.

Sol got a 1000D, hers is in the range I mentioned.

Edited by Kirislin

I got the Canon 1000D. I LOVE it :eek:

I am a complete beginner in terms of both photography and dslr and am finding this to be a perfect camera for me - it's got all the auto settings for point and shoot but also you can take it out of auto and learn how to manage exposure, shutter speed, ISO settings etc. I'm really enjoying it :o My kit came with 2 lenses but am already looking at purchasing a 50mm down the track.