My Turn, My Turn

Esky the husky

I would eventually like to add another dog to our family pack.

We are a young couple with 1 cat and Esky the Siberian.

What I/ we want:

A dog that I can sled with. Has to be at least medium sized but deerhound sized. :laugh:

A dog that wants to be with it's people.

A dog that can be 'loyal' and 'trustworthy'

OH has said no to any more huskies (or malamutes)

This is what he doesn't like about huskies

*direct quote*

Cheekiness knows no bound

independant nature doesn't suit companion animals

Anyone got some ideas of breeds that might suit us that I could research?

I've been looking at a few, but DOL is always a great source of inspiration ;)

I've never done sledding before, but I have heard a few GSP's that have done so. Very limited grooming requirements, very people orientated, loyal and affectionate. Could possibly fit what you are after. Most cope well with cats if exposed to them from a young age.

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.272676692772261.74897.120996534606945&type=3#!/photo.php?fbid=272679282772002&set=a.272676692772261.74897.120996534606945&type=3&theater

I know you don't mean right NOW but meet Hunter. He is GSP x Amstaff as best as I can determine. He wants to be with his people lots, he is fabulous with cats and is young enough to learn how to sled. :D

Sounds like a few of the larger gundogs may suit.

How long are the sledding runs for? If its a fairly long distance look at breeds bred to 'work all day' like herding and gundog breeds, conformation is important for soundness.

It's not too far, nothing like overseas.

1 dog runs are about the 3-3.5 kms 2 dog runs are slightly more. But then you have 2 dogs doing the work.

There are some GSPs who run and a guy who has Labs.

GSD :)

Got a 2 dog team of GSD's who run down this way as well.

OH however embarrassed me at the last show we went to together, loudly stating his opinions on show GSDs *sigh* :o