Adding Bone To Raw

juice

I have been feeding my dogs raw for a few years now , roo meat and VANS , liver, ( once a week sardines and eggs too.) Thats the main meal .

For brekky they get a couple of chicken feet each.

The problem is for the third time Bonn has tried to swallow them whole, been sick , and is now flat again ( been to vets for jab to make her feel better and on zantac).

I used to feed necks, wings, but she swallowed them whole too, the vet suggested lamb shanks?

Is there a safe way to get bone into her diet, or should i just give up?

She has also had several bouts of pancreatis so i need something not fatty.

Edited by juice

I bought frozen lamb necks i think yesterday, they were pretty huge and it took her an hour to eat. i wanted something a bit quicker than that for brekky as she is food aggro and keeping her shut in garage that long is a pita as i need to work in there and walk through.

could i just feed a frame a couple of times a week? and not everyday.

I bought frozen lamb necks i think yesterday, they were pretty huge and it took her an hour to eat. i wanted something a bit quicker than that for brekky as she is food aggro and keeping her shut in garage that long is a pita as i need to work in there and walk through.

could i just feed a frame a couple of times a week? and not everyday.

I feed dry predominantly (plus eggs, sardines, yoghurt and all sorts of yummy stuff) and frames 2-3 nights for dinner. Why not feed the slow eating things at night and just give her a small, quick breakfast - raw or dry. Check the poo - you can quickly tell if you're feeding too much or too little bone although it's not an exact science lol

Edited by The Spotted Devil

Turkey wings are obviously heaps bigger so they might be harder to swallow? I just used to buy from Woolworths so easy to get hold of.

I did stop feeding them after Poppy kept chucking up bone. Other people seem to have no problems but thought I would mention that.