Inbreeding Question From Novice

westozmike

Hi there - I'm currently talking to a few breeders of staffies. Looking for a new family pet.

I am an eperinced dog owner but very new to evaluating purebreds (and breeders :rofl: ).

My question is:

One of the pups we are looking at has a grandad on the sire's side that is the same dog as the great-grandad on the dam's side (as listed on the registered pedigree). Is this considered acceptable? Are there any general rules for dogs with regard to this that I should be aware of?

As I said I am a real novice but keen for some help/advice.

PS - This forum is a goldmine I have learnt so much already - Thanks!!

:thumbsup::laugh::laugh:

Very acceptable, not very closely related at all in the terms of dog and cat breeding. Don't get too hung up on how many relations they have in common - bad parents with genetic problems will produce bad puppies with genetic problems even if they have no ancestors in common for many many generations. Concentrate on the health temperament and soundness of the parents and their parents to begin with.

The breeding you mention would be classed as line breeding (dog name) 2:3

This meaning the dog in question is 2 lines back on one side and 3 lines back on the other.

This would be considered okay but with the number of staff bloodlines around it would seem very tight. If you are intending breeding with this dog in the future you would probably not want to breed back to that same blood line.

If the breeding is 2:2 or less then you are getting too tight and verging on incest breeding.

goodluck with your pup.

Nothing wrong with that mating.

If the parents of are good type, they are sound and are of good temperament , then it gets the :thumbsup: from me.

ETA: there are some stunning examples of the breed that are much closer than that mating. A gorgeous father/daughter mating comes to mind, that cemented years of work.

Edited by SBT123