Would Love Some Advice Please.

BC Crazy

Hi everyone,

My very sweet OH wants to buy me a DSLR camera for Chrissy, how spoilt am I. Im wrapped . Anyway would love some help with which one would be best for a beginner like myself. I mainly would love to take some good photots of my dogs. Ive been looking at the new Sony ones & they look really good. Any advice with which one to choose & where to buy would be great. Thanks, merry christmas.

Edited by BC Crazy

My preference is Canon - any model with a 3 digit number or less. The 550D or 600D would be a great start... and get at least the twin lens kit with it. Oh - and decent capacity memory cards!

My friend has an older Nikon that takes brilliant shots too - I'd consider Nikon maybe if I couldn't have a Canon.

I am not a professional photographer, and I'm no expert with all the funky settings of any camera, but I do take a hell of a lot of photos... *grin*

T.

Thanks T for your help. There are so many to choose from & it is all very complicated. I have only ever had a very run of the mill dig. camera, so I am all ears for some tips, ideas or suggestions to make the right decision. Im going to brouse the Canon website now, & thanks again for your input.

I have doing a bit of research this morning & although I like the Sony Nex 5, I think from the reviews Ive been reading it is not very user friendlly for a first timer. Was going to go for a look at the local camera shop, as kindly suggested but my one of my furry kids is unwell today so I will keep an eye on him this arvo,just to be on the safe side. Maybe tomorrow. Please keep posting any other info you think I may not know, which will be lots. LoL.

Edited by BC Crazy

For what it's worth, everyone I know who bought Sony has ended up selling it and changing to either Canon or Nikon.

But like WA says, have a play :)