I Am An Expert On Giving Meds:

Some of you may remember my thread of about a year ago started in desperation about how to give meds to a dog who was sick and would not eat. This thread led to two things: a huge depletion of my bank account as I bought just about every food on the market trying out the suggestions :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: and an increase in Bunter’s weight as he was fed just about all of these as Danny constantly turned up his nose and god forbid I try anything new with Jeune and Tamar :eek:

I am a slow learner, but I eventually hit on a method. I crush the tablets up in smooth peanut butter and spread on the roof of Danny’s mouth. Even this he was sometimes able to spit out, but it worked for quite a while.

A couple of months ago, I had a lightbulb moment and substituted Nutrigel for the peanut butter. Magic :happydance: :happydance:

I have been giving him Nutrigel mixed in bone broth on a daily basis to keep his weight up so always had it on hand. It works becuase 1) it tastes good, and 2) it is the consistency of molasses and so can’t be spat out.

I know lots of people have difficulties with giving meds and it can be very distressing.

If anyone who has a hard time giving their dogs medications, I’d love to know if you try this and it works.

• Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

a lot of them contains Xylitol

This would be the low or no sugar options. I checked a bunch of jars in our supermarket fairly recently and couldn't find any with this stuff. Tho it is common in the USA and definitely means checking the ingredient list.

The most recent jar of Dick Smith - was the only jar I could find with Australian Peanuts, also had some sugar - which I rate as undesirable but non toxic.

I guess the only other way is to get some peanuts crushed at your local health food shop. Then it's all peanut and nothing else. Except trace of rat poo - all peanut has this, well all the imported peanuts will.