“is It Time To Introduce A Spitz Group In Australia?”.

Bjelkier

65 members have voted

1. 1. Is it time to introduce a Spitz Group (group 8) in Australia?

• Yes
    • No
    • Other (please give reasons)

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Some posts about why or why not would be nice guys ;)

Personally I would be happy to see one but at the same time I would be just as happy to see a reshuffle of all the groups on a whole as I believe there are a number of breeds in the wrong areas.

i'm still kinda new to the show ring but i also thing a reshuffling would be good. don't know enough about the spitz's though.

there are some breeds in the hound group that some say shouldn't be there and i find the extremes of type very difficult mainly between the scent and sighthounds.

i have voted in the poll yet, will have to see the options again.

i voted no, for the same reason ans Aziah has pointed out. i would hate to see a dog moved to a group where it really didnt belong.

Another reason, imagine the chaos for getting judges....unless you always got all breed judges you would more than likely have to split the group into several sections, a logistical nightmare

I'm leaning towards no. Like Aziah said, our dogs are a herding breed, so fit into the group they're already in. Also, being a rare breed, we already get compared to other Spitz breeds for all sorts of things that aren't actually required in our breed (for example, one that is debated quite often, tails being up in the stack) and I think that would happen even more if they were all in the same group.

However if I ever get a show Sibe, it'd be very nice to have lappies and sibes in the same group and not worrying about clashing!

i voted no, for the same reason ans Aziah has pointed out. i would hate to see a dog moved to a group where it really didnt belong.