Help! Out Of Control German Shepherd

Firstly, this is my first German Shepherd, our family has only ever had English Bull Terriers which were show dogs and perfectly behaved, calm, sweet etc. So, I'm a novice to a different breed. BIG MISTAKE!

My husband has had 3 German Shepherds in his family over his 30 years but were owned by his parents so he didn't really have a lot to do with the training of them etc.

Our dog, Jasper, is a pedigree (we have his papers) but is not going to be shown or used to breed with, he is just a family pet. He is 17 months old.

Before I get into what he is doing, we have taken him to the Vet and asked if we should de-sex him to calm him down. We were told no as it will make no difference to such a highly strung dog. Aaagghhh.

This is what he does...Please remember my husband and I are both shift workers full time but when we are not here, my Mother is here with my daughter. She can't control him either.

He barks, NON STOP, its unbelievable. He barks at wind, a car driving past the front yard, the people next door going into their yards to water their lawn. They can't even put their washing on the line without having Japser bark at them non stop.

So, we chained him up each time he barked, hoping to teach him a lesson. We would let him off when he was good. Nup, hasn't worked in 17 months and it's done regulary. He barks on the chain!

So, we muzzle him when he barks and take it off when he stops making noise. He is crazy, he lets us put the muzzle on, stays quiet for about 5 minutes, then as soon as we are about to take it off, he does this horrendous half bark, half howl thing from under the muzzle. It's actually just as loud as his bark!