Rats!

Erny

I've never used poison here before - don't like it. Primarily for dog-sake, but also must admit that whilst rats give me the heebie-jeebies, I don't like that they suffer pain before they perish.

BUT the rat problem around here doesn't seem to be a passing phase and now I can hear that they are in my ducted heating under the house, gnawing away. Also in the garage (one food treat pouch down). I'm not sure if I've heard noises in the ceiling as well, or whether the sound direction of the gnawing I heard last night was my error, or if there were rats above AND below me. So it's come to the point where I will have to do something about them, otherwise I can imagine the amount of (further) damage they will be causing to the home and car.

Is it better to get professional help in? And do they block holes where the rats have obviously entered to be able to get in under the house? Or do they only lay poisons just as I may if I have to deal with this myself?

Thoughts, opinions and experiences?

Edited by Erny

We had rats AND mynah birds.

Because of the ages & fraility of the older Vizslas, we got a professional to attend to the issue.

Bear in mind I am in NSW, Erny, but our professional literally rat-proofed the premises.

May differ for other States.

This work was done at the start of last summer. ( Late October). I am checking 3 place where we used to see 'droppings'. None have been sighted.

For us, worthwhile in terms of no chemicals on OUR bodies and no error by ourselves to hurt the dogs & parrots.

Peace of mind is what we achieved.

Good Luck

:)

Thank you. Have no idea what they charge, but that information will soon become apparent when I begin ringing around.

Is it a regular 'thing' that the professionals rat proof the home?

It is pretty hard to block out mice and rats. They can squish through tiny spaces. The pest guy I used just put bait down.