Euthanasia

jackie_a1

So as you guys know on Feb 16 of this year I had to euthanise Lucky my (great dane cross mastiff) he was nine years old, he was suffering from skin cancer and a secondary condition of severe atopic dermatitis. I stayed with him the entire time including while he was passing. I couldn't stand the thought of letting the last thing he see on this earth be an unfamiliar face.

I am a vet nurse student so we have gone over numerous amounts of times euthanasia lethabarb etc and have watched videos and during work placement I witnessed a few euthanasias first hand myself. It's always devastating regardless of what or who's animal is being euthanised.

My question is, how many of you have had to euthanise your pet? And who of you stayed through the entire process?

Rest in Peace my beautiful big boy. I miss you.

• Replies 181
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

But I'm not that keen to push it all behind me either. I'll never forget having to euthanise my pet, but it makes me appreciate my animals a whole lot more. I'm not asking for details and if any one is not comfortable replying than please don't.

I have had to euthanase dogs and other animals and I have always stayed with them.

However! Each person and pet is different.

I have worked in the veterinary industry for 15 years and have seen and held many animals for their final journey. Sometimes people just cannot stay with their beloved pet as they feel they are letting them down. Some do not want that as their last memory of their beloved pet.

I have at times had to hold very well known animals that I had seen born and then at the end. Broke my heart every time, but I helped the owners in one of the most vunerable times of their lives and for that I feel extremely honoured.