Coats

aliwake

I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to dog coats - I grew up in Cairns where they certainly weren't necessary!

Just wondering generally when people use them?

Do you ever leave them on the dog when you're not home, or are they for supervised use only?

Our lab Nixon is outside during the day when we're at work. We don't have a patio or anything in that part of the yard, so he has a fairly fancy kennel to use should he choose to keep dry when it's raining. I have actually sprung him using it on occasion which I was very happy about, but I know towards the end of the day when we're due home, he will be racing around the yard gleefully regardless of weather! He's generally quite happy wandering around in the rain, but it worries me through winter, when rain is combined with cold, and we won't be there to dry him off til the afternoon. Would any of you consider a waterproof coat in this situation?

• Replies 177
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

My Lab wears his pretty much all day once it gets cold (I do live near Canberra though so it's freezing) but he's old and has very bad hips.

He didn't wear them as a young dog however and he also loved running around in the rain. Labs are pretty tough, I don't think getting a bit damp in a QLD winter will hurt him too much ;)